THE NYXIEZONE ✴︎˚。⋆

[personal] the collapse of fandoms part 2

okay but this post is a rant and personal
which may not apply to some people's experiences.

in part 1, I was talking about my fandom experiences in the pre/early covid pandemic. (2019 and earlier) and now I will be talking about my fandom experience in the late/post covid pandemic. (late 2021 - present)



in 2021 (the most depressingly boring year in my life comparing to this current year) I was going around in the list of upcoming animated movies on wikipedia to see what's new and I found a new movie with a concept that might appeal to me. a movie based on a book about a group of dangerous misunderstood animals going into a heist, trying to redeem themselves in the end and THIS COULD BE A ANOTHER FURRY MOVIE. I'm waiting for the next year OMGGGGGG..


and I discovered another new fun concept during quarantine; I was browsing through tumblr and I stumble upon a cool artist with a lot of OCs. I was so excited because those characters look so amazing (those are peak character designs) and they look like characters you want to see in a saturday morning cartoon; I wish studios hired that artist to work on the animation industry because those character designs are so good.

by the end of the year, the bad guys trailer came out (that movie I was excited about) and this is how the characters look like
oh boy, the furries got crazy over Mr. Wolf, I expected to like him too (somehow ended up liking Mr. Piranha instead). I was very excited and looking more into this movie. I tried to find leaks for this movie. (hyperfixations are crazy) after this movie came out, I went to the theater and GUESS WHAT?? I ended up liking Mr. Piranha in a not so normal amount. I started to have a weird crush on Mr. Piranha and made selfship art of Mr. Piranha. I made a lot of cute funny fanart of Mr. Piranha and even made up lore for this guy (haven't posted to the public because I was lazy but I will eventually).
during the Mr. Piranha liking phase, my art style used to be experimental and eccentric. this guy made me embrace my weirdness and whimsy. I joined a selfshipping discord where people talk about their fictional crushes, I made a lot of good friends in that server. the owner of the server was such a cool friend, they were supportive of me and my eccentric crush. they were the reason why I continued with my enthusiasm and felt confident about liking Piranha.

after 2022 ended and 2023 started
this one cool passion project I found from tumblr back in quarantine (welcome home)...
just somehow broke the internet and gained a fandom...
I was watching NightMind's analytical video of welcome home and I ended up having a crush on Wally Darling.
I made a lot of doodles of Wally and even made selfship doodles of Me x Wally.
jeezz louizz... THE WELCOME HOME FAD WAS CRAZY, EVEN MY NIECE AND HER SCHOOLMATES LIKED WELCOME HOME.
welcome home was so popular, welcome home fans even made their pixel art of Wally and Home together on r/places on reddit and my niece told me so many kids on roblox were cosplaying/roleplaying as Wally. and all this craze led to some really BAD NEWS.. the fandom got toxic and had endless drama. there was "problematic" shippers and people with stupid takes about the project and the characters. having a comfort character with the worst fandom is the most painful thing to experience. I learned to suppress my fondness for Wally to isolate myself from his shitty fandom. (I feel sorry for Wally and the guy who made Welcome Home, man).

after 2023, there's 2024 (present) I couldn't find a new fandom but I'm afraid to do so.. because of my experiences. my potential fandoms right now are Trolls 3, Fairly OddParents, Smiling Friends, etc. I missed out a lot of new episodes... I missed out everything in this year because I have become so insecure thanks to social media addiction and stupid cultural changes.

I have more things to explain.. I will talk about the future of fandoms and some advices about fandoms thus I will make a part 3 later, byeee

#fandom #personal #rant